Oat Flakes Rolled Oats – Certified Gluten Free

R0.00

Oats are considered safe for those with a gluten allergy

Description

Oats Flakes / Rolled Oats – Gluten Free

What is it?

According to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center, oats are technically gluten-free since they aren’t a type of wheat, barley or rye grain, which are the three groups of whole grains that naturally contain the protein gluten.

Instead of containing gluten, oats and therefore oat flour actually have a protein called avenins.
Oats are considered safe for those with a gluten allergy or gluten intolerance, easier for most people to digest, and much less likely to cause negative reactions. Reports show that “perhaps less than 1 percent of celiac patients show a reaction to a large amount of oats in their diets.” So the good news is that as long as you use 100 percent pure oats that has not been contaminated by foods containing gluten it’s a great choice for people looking to avoid gluten. Not only is oats gluten-free — it’s also loaded with nutrients and health benefits.

What can it do for me?

It has a low glycemic index which means it does not spike blood sugar levels. Studies show that it has health benefits for people with diabetes and those who are working towards reaching a healthy weight and lifestyle.

 

How do I store it?

Keep oats in an airtight container away from moisture. In the freezer it will keep for many months.